youth law center

VOTING RIGHTS OF YOUTH IN JUVENILE FACILITIES

DID YOU KNOW THAT YOUTH IN JUVENILE FACILITIES CAN

YOTE?

Young people in California can vote if they are:

- A U.S. citizen and California resident
- 18 years old or older on Election Day

Does a felony juvenile case matter for voting?

NO! A youth in the juvenile system that meets the eligibility requirements above can vote. Juvenile adjudications don't impact voting rights.



CLAIM YOUR RIGHT TO VOTE:



Step 1: Register

- Check to see if you're already registered here:
 - https://voterstatus.sos.ca.gov/
- If not, fill out a registration form:
 - o Register online: registertovote.ca.gov
 - Or request a registration card from the county elections office or Probation.
- Info needed for registration:
 - o Date and place of birth
 - Personal identification of EITHER
 - Driver's license or ID card #, OR
 - Last 4 digits of Social Security Number
 - Home address
 - Mailing address (use the juvenile facility address if you will be there on election day)
- Register at least 15 days before Election Day.
 - The Probation Dept. is required by law to identify voting-eligible youth and assist with registration (Elec. Code § 2105.7)

Step 2: Request a ballot

- Request a "vote by mail" ballot as part of your voter registration or from the county elections office.
- Request your ballot at least 7 days before Election Day.

Step 3: Vote!

- Check out the Secretary of State's Voter Guide: <u>voterguide.sos.ca.gov</u>
- Or visit <u>Voter's Edge CA</u> for local info.
- Sign, date, and seal the envelope. Your ballot is confidential.
- Mail your ballot by Election Day.

Get Help!

Ask vour defense attornev or call:

Secretary of State Voter Hotline, 800-345-VOTE (8683)